top of page

💙ACTION ALERT:OPPOSE SB 1024 - Net Metering *before Tuesday Jan 11th*

SB 1024 (Bradley) Net Metering will be heard Tuesday, Jan. 11 in the Senate Regulated Industries Committee. We need you to light up your phones and emails to the committee members listed below to OPPOSE this anti-environmental bill. Background -- Net metering allows utility customers to connect solar panels to the electric grid and get credit on their electric bill if they send excess electricity back to the grid. Utility companies hate this and have tried for years to end net metering. They label it as a “subsidy” that forces those without solar panels to pay for energy they do not benefit from, and they claim the cost increases for everyone, which is not true. The fact is that everyone on the grid saves money when an individual installs solar on a home or business because the utility doesn’t have to invest in new transmission lines, new power plants etc., which cost utility customers more on their bill every month. Here are some talking points to use about this bill: ·It will codify anti-solar utility language into statute and decimate Florida’s growing rooftop solar industry. ·It will reduce the amount that utilities must pay to solar customers who generate renewable energy and impose new charges, fees, and minimum bills on them. ·It will provide a window of only 10 years for existing solar customers who bought in under a very different rate structure to recoup their investment. ·It will result in the loss of thousands of solar jobs and billions in economic development. ·Florida Power & Light (FPL) drafted the bill for Sen. Bradley to file. FPL’s parent company, NextEra Energy then followed up with a $10,000 contribution to Sen. Bradley’s political committee! Killing net metering will only further cement the power industry’s monopoly in Florida, making all of us vulnerable to unchecked rising energy costs. Please contact the following Senate Regulated Industries committee members to voice your opposition to SB 1024 Net Metering before Tuesday. Chair: Senator Travis Hutson (R) 487-5007

Vice Chair: Senator Lauren Book (D) 487-5032

Senator Ben Albritton (R) 487-5026

Senator Joe Gruters (R) 487-5023

Senator Ed Hooper (R) 487-5016

Senator Kathleen Passidomo (R) 487-5028

Senator Ray Wesley Rodrigues (R) 487-5027

Senator Darryl Ervin Rouson (D) 487-5019

Senator Linda Stewart (D) 487-5013

Thank you,

Jean Siebenaler

DWCF Legislative Chair


2022 Senate Regulated Industries Committee - Sheet1
Download PDF • 37KB

2022 Senate Regulated Industries Committee
Download XLSX • 5KB

42 views0 comments
bottom of page